Last week, Teairra Mari expressed her disappointment (via YouTube during an interview with Rap-Up magazine) when she got dropped by Roc-A-Fella Records a few years ago after being named ‘Princess of the ROC’ and never got a phone call from President Carter aka Jay-Z. She said the only person from Def Jam who told her to keep her head up was Young Jeezy.

When asked if he gets upset when people question his loyalty or friendship, Jay responds

What I am very happy about is that no matter what people say, no one has ever said that I am dishonest or that I have taken one dime from them. [Raises voice] I’ve never cheated anyone out of a dime. No one’s ever said that, right? As far as Foxy or Tierra Marie, these are people that I have given chances to. Sometimes it don’t work out. It’s understandable that they would be upset, but you got to look at it [from] my point of view as well. I did give them chances. I gave Tierra Marie the same shot I gave Rihanna. Look at where Rihanna is. Look how that turned out. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t. I wish I could make every single person successful but that just is not reality.

Firstly, I personally feel like Teairra Mari is much more talented than Rihanna even though I feel that neither of them are amazing vocalists or anything like that. BUT I felt like they gave up on Teairra as with RiRi they kept going, because Rihanna didn’t BLOW UP ’til after the whole haircut and ‘Umbrella’ single which is off her third album. I felt that if the Roc woulda just rocked (haha) with Teairra and kept promoting her and put out better singles and albums, she could’ve been doing well.

BUT that’s not when I made this post. I felt like by dropping a ‘friend’ (Teairra claims Jay was like a father figure) from your label, you would at least call to say goodbye or wish them good luck but that didn’t happen. What it comes down to was that he was being fucked up. Although it was a business decision and nothing personal, he didn’t have to leave her hanging. That’s just my two cents, though. MOVING ON.

One response »

  1. ALEXANDRA says:

    u right becuz he could have called her and let her know, basically he let her go and said bitch fuck ur bizness im rolling with the lightskinned girl

Leave a Reply

