If y’all didn’t know, I’ve always been into choreography. I mean YEARS before America’s Best Dance Crew came on. A video which kicked off my interest for it was Aaliyah‘s ‘Are You That Somebody’ video. I think this is when many people started to pay attention to the dance sequences in videos, because they were different from what you’d expect to see. Aaliyah was an individual on her own. She had her own sound, style and she was just different–but in a good way. After this video hit, people (I’m talkin bout pop culture, white people starting taking notice) really aspired to do what Aaliyah did. Let me stop, ‘cuz y’all know I can go on. BTW, if you hadn’t notice, this is a new yet will be a reoccurring segment on Soul Explicit and also Day 1 of the ’10 Days of Aaliyah: Remebering & Celebrating’ (I’m hella serious) while I will display some type of material from Aaliyah with ‘brief’ commentary. Aaliyah died nearly 7 years ago on August 25th, 2001 in a plane crash in the Bahamas after shooting her music video for her song ‘Rock the Boat‘.

Leave a Reply

